A Rachmaninoff Masterpiece on Violin – G minor Op. 23, No. 5

One of the most well-known Rachmaninoff preludes, the G Minor from Op. 23 is a popular subject for arrangement and orchestration. Editor Ernst Schliephake has transcribed this quintessential Post-Romantic era work for violin.

About Rachmaninoff's Prelude in G minor Op. 23, No. 5 for Violin Solo

In the summer of 1993 I had the idea to transcribe Rachmaninoff's Prelude in g minor. I already knew the fantastic original version as performed by Alexis Weissenberg, Sviatoslav Richter or the master himself on Ampico Piano-roll. I was fascinated by that masterpiece and set about to bring it to one left hand and a bow with the incredible virtuosic playing of Ruggiero Ricci always in my mind…
–Ernst Schliephake

About the Editor – Ernst Schliephake

Ernst Schliephake was born May 23, 1962. After beginning violin lessons at the age of five, at just seven years old he already won his first competition. In 1973 he started playing the clarinet as his second instrument. Schliephake studied violin at Music Academy Detmold from 1979 to 1985 and served as the assistant to his professor Mr. Lukas David from 1983 to 1985. It was during this time that he also played the clarinet in concert with violinist Tibor Varga, performing the Brahms Clarinet Quintet 14 times.

In 1981 Schliephake played in a master class for Ruggiero Ricci, beginning a long friendship and collaboration that continued up to his passing on August 5th, 2012.

Schliephake has served as a violinist in the Düsseldorf Symphony Orchestra, the Bavarian Radio Symphony Orchestra, the Bavarian State Opera Orchestra and since 1989 has been the associate concertmaster of the Munich Symphony Orchestra. He has also edited numerous works for G. Henle Verlag.

Learn more about Ernst Schliephake and his arrangements at Ovation Press.

All of these scores are available for download exclusively at Ovation Press. If you want to be kept updated on the latest scores from Ovation Press, be sure to join our mailing list!

Tags: ,


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply