Watkins Three Ships Sailing

“I Saw Three Ships” sails in and anchors for the holidays

Add Stephen Watkins’ cello octet arrangement of the popular Christmas carol I Saw Three Ships to your holiday repertoire, just in time for the season
Heinrich Schutz

Deckert arranges two works by Heinrich Schütz for cello ensemble

Two vocal settings by Early Baroque composer Heinrich Schütz are now available for cello ensemble
O Mio Babbino Caro for Cello Sextet

Fedor Amosov arranges “O Mio Babbino Caro” for cello sextet

New editor Fedor Amosov has arranged Puccini’s famous aria “O Mio Babbino Caro” for cello sextet
Photo of Cellophony

Interview with Richard Birchall

We’re excited to present an exclusive interview with cellist, composer, arranger, and Cellophony member/founder Richard Birchall. Mr. Birchall talks arranging for cello ensemble, the birth and development of his cello octet, and future plans.
Valter Despalj Featured Banner

Dešpalj Transcribes Middle/Late Baroque for Cello Ensemble

Internationally acclaimed cellist, arranger, and Ovation Press editor Valter Dešpalj has transcribed two works from Alessandro Stradella and Joseph Bodin de Boismortier
Score Spotlight Oct 1-15, 2014

Score Spotlight: Oct 1-15, 2014

A recap of Ovation Press scores published in the first half of the October 2014
MoCap Violin Setup

Classical MoCap Part 2: Systems and Applications of Motion Capture

We conclude our two part feature on “MoCap” by exploring three major motion capture systems and the application of one in particular to classical music
Classical MoCap Part 1 - Intro to Motion Capture

Classical MoCap Part 1: Intro to Motion Capture

Motion capture is a fascinating topic that has real practical applications in classical music! Read on to learn more about them.
IMMM slider

Exclusive Interview with Erwin Schoonderwaldt (Part 2)

Motion capture has been used to heal patients and make our movies more realistic—but its greatest secrets are still being unlocked. Read the conclusion of our exclusive interview with motion capture scientist Dr. Erwin Schoonderwaldt to learn more!
Schoonderwaldt 1

Exclusive Interview with Erwin Schoonderwaldt (Part 1)

In this exclusive interview, String Visions talks to researcher Erwin Schoonderwaldt about motion capture technology and its relation with musician’s health.
Marc Johnson (1947-2014)

Remembering Marc Johnson

Chicago Symphony cellist and former student Daniel Katz pays tribute to Marc Johnson, who passed away earlier this month
Greensmith pic

Interview with Clive Greensmith, Part 2

Interview with Tokyo String Quartet Cellist Clive Greensmith Part 2 of 2 Cellist Clive Greensmith has been a member of the Tokyo Quartet since 1999. A graduate of the Royal Northern College of Music and the Musikhochschule in Cologne, his principal teachers were Donald McCall and Boris Pergamenschikow. He has held the position of principal […]