Daily Bow: And the Winner Is…

Daily Bow Logo

Hilary Hahn Picks Winner in Encore Contest

A while ago, we mentioned violinist Hilary Hahn’s new encore composition project. Hahn commissioned famous composers to write short encores for violin and piano, each lasting between 90 seconds and five minutes. The project, named In 27 Pieces: The Hilary Hahn Encores, listed 26 composers, including such well-known names as Jennifer Higdon and Kryzsztof Penderecki. The last composer, Hahn announced, would be selected through an online contest.

Last week, we learned that the composer Jeff Myers is the lucky winner! Myers’ piece, “The Angry Birds of Kauai,” will receive premieres around the world as a part of Hahn’s 2012-2013 season, as well as inclusion on the project’s final album due for release in 2014. Myers is currently the Assistant Professor of Music at the University of Hawaii at Manoa, and has had his music premiered around the world in from Carnegie Hall to Darmstadt. He holds degrees from San José State University, the Eastman School of Music and the University of Michigan, and has been a fellow at the Aspen Festival, Tanglewood, Festival Acanthes, the Atlantic Center for the Arts. Hahn interviewed Myers to help her fans learn a little more about his piece; check it out below!

In addition to the Myers, Hahn selected ten honorable mentions. Although they will not make it onto the CD, Hahn did commit to performing all of the 10 additional encores by the end of 2015.

Philip Brownlee: “Pariwhero”
Nikolet Burzynska: “Orna-mention”
Tristan D’Agosta: “Piece for Violin and Piano”
Mark Gresham: “Café Cortadito”
George Kontogiorgos: “Before the Rain Starts”
Marius Felix Lange: “Nutcracker’s Nightmare”
Garth Neustadter: “Volitation”
Aaron Severini: “Catch”
Rani Sharone: “Tick”
Octavio Vazquez: “NGC 6611″

The encore contest was a great opportunity for composers to get their work out in the open and promote the huge variety of styles being used in contemporary music. Over 400 people participated in the project, and 11 will have chance for their piece to be heard by audiences around the world. Congratulations to all the winners!

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply