New Score Releases: May 2012

For those of you not subscribed to the Ovation Press mailing list (shame on you!), we have been growing our catalog of new scores thanks to the contributions of our amazing editors. Here are highlights of some of our recent releases.

For Viola

Schumann Five Folk Pieces music scoreWe have a new and rather rare work fresh off the press. On Tuesday, we announced an arrangement by world-famous violist and founding member of the Guarneri String Quartet Michael Tree: Robert Schumann’s Fünf Stücke im Volkston (Five Pieces in Popular Style). For those of you who have been with us for a while, you might remember that Ovation Press co-founder Hans Jensen did a 3-part interview with Mr. Tree last summer. As a proponent of chamber music and under-represented works, it is fitting that Michael Tree’s first publication with us is a rarity among Schumann’s more famous and established compositions. Thanks to him, we now have an outstanding arrangement of this hidden jewel for viola and piano.

SCORE: Schumann Fünf Stücke im Volkston arranged for Viola and Piano

To learn more about this work, check out our press release – Michael Tree and Ovation Press Publish Schumann’s Fünf Stücke im Volkston (Five Pieces in Popular Style).

In addition, earlier this month editor Alan Bodman gave us an exciting opportunity to see how seamlessly the musical ideas of Russian composer Alexander Glazunov can translate from cello to viola. His arrangement of Chant du ménestrel, Op. 71 preserves the lyrical and harmonically interesting style characteristic of Glazunov while presenting it in the lighter timber and tonal light unique to the viola.

SCORE: Glazunov Chant du ménestrel arranged for Viola and Piano

For Bass

Our most recent score for double bass continues to be a big hit: Edwin Barker added a new edition of Richard Strauss’ Also sprach Zarathustra for bass. After performing the work with the Boston Symphony Orchestra in January, Mr. Barker was inspired to add his own editorial markings to the score. His edition now sits alongside another version of Strauss’ famous tone poem by bassist Paul Ellison.

What a fantastic opportunity for everyone to check out and compare two different editions of the same score for the same instrument!

SCORE: Strauss Also sprach Zarathustra, Bass part edited by Edwin Barker

SCORE: Strauss Also sprach Zarathustra, Bass part edited by Paul Ellison

For String Orchestra

Last year we introduced Amy Barlowe, the dynamic composer and Ovation Press editor who brought us the internationally-acclaimed 12 Etude-Caprices in the Styles of Great Composers. Ms. Barlowe has returned to publish two new works, this time for string ensemble. The first – Celebration Suite – is for string orchestra, percussion and sopranos while the second – Suite Celtica – is for string orchestra. Written for intermediate-level musicians (i.e. a middle school orchestra), each suite would be a lively and vibrant part of any concert program. These are significant additions to the Ovation Press catalog of music from a composer who has received rave reviews from musicians all over the world, including faculty at leading musical institutions such as the Juilliard School, the Cleveland Institute of Music, and the Boston Conservatory.

SCORE: Amy Barlowe Celebration Suite for String Orchestra, Percussion, and Sopranos

SCORE:  Amy Barlowe Suite Celtica for String Orchestra

If you want to be kept updated on the latest scores from Ovation Press, be sure to join our mailing list!


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply